New to Advising at NC State

Return to Advisor’s Toolkit


FERPA stands for Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, which gives students certain rights of privacy concerning their education records and rights of access to their educational records.

Advising Document

An advising document for your department or unit can outline your advising philosophy, student learning outcomes, policies and expectations for advisors,  and expectations for students. Here is an example of such a document.

Advising Timeline

It may be helpful to create an advising timeline for your college/program for new hires, as well as to have a schedule of how advising operates in your office.

As an example, the University College Exploratory Studies program has created an advising timeline.

State Advisors Google Group

The State Advisors Google Group is a source of information about changes in programs, professional development opportunities, and new student success initiatives. Colleges and departments utilize the listserve to advertise classes and share updates to their curricula.

Advisor Training and Development

The Advisor Development Institute (ADI) offers faculty and staff the opportunity to demonstrate their commitment to academic advising at NC State. This program offers undergraduate advisors, advising administrators, and campus units numerous opportunities to learn and develop their knowledge, skills, and conceptual understanding of the advising relationship.  The ADI Certificate recognizes an individual’s commitment to the development of advising expertise.

ADI sessions are advertised through the State Advisors Google Group. For questions concerning the Advisor Development Institute programs, please contact Donna Burton (

National Academic Advising Association (NACADA)

NACADA represents the global community for academic advising. This professional organization is an excellent resource providing a clearinghouse, webinars, conferences, and other tools to enhance advising skills.

NC State is a part of the Mid-South Region 3, which includes Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

For edits, suggestions, or comments regarding this page, please contact Donna Burton at